BASCA, in association with PRS for Music announce the winners of the 56th Ivor Novello Awards [The Ivors].

Fourteen Ivor Novello Awards were presented at the ceremony, which took place on Thursday 19th May at the Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London.

Presented since 1956, The Ivors celebrate, honour and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing. They are presented by BASCA [British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors] and are judged by the songwriting and composing community. They have been sponsored by PRS for Music since 1974.

PRS for Music Most Performed Work
She Said
Written by Eric Appapoulay, Richard Cassell, Benjamin Drew and Tom Wright-Goss
Published in the UK by Sony/ATV Music and Universal Music Publishing

The Ivors Classical Music Award:
Michael Nyman

Best Television Soundtrack:
Any Human Heart
Composed by Dan Jones
Published in the UK by Faber Music Ltd and Universal Music Publishing

Best Contemporary Song:
Pass Out
Written by Timothy McKenzie, Patrick Okogwu and Marc Williams
Published in the UK by EMI Music Publishing and Stellar Songs Ltd

International Achievement:
Muse (Matthew Bellamy/Dominic Howard/Christopher Wolstenholme)

Best Original Film Score:
How To Train Your Dragon
Composed by John Powell
Published in the UK by BMG Chrysalis

Best Original Video Game Score:
Napoleon: Total War
Composed by Richard Beddow, Richard Birdsall and Ian Livingstone
Published in the UK by SEGA

The Ivors Inspiration Award:
Dizzee Rascal

Album Award:
The Defamation of Strickland Banks
Written by Benjamin Drew
Published in the UK by Universal Music Publishing

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music:
Paul Rodgers

Best Song Musically and Lyrically:
Becoming a Jackal
Written by Conor O’Brien
Published in the UK by Domino Publishing Company

Songwriter of the Year:
Ben Drew

Outstanding Song Collection:
Steve Winwood

PRS for Music Special International Award:
Stephen Sondheim