The 4th Ivor Novello Awards were presented by the Songwriters Guild of Great Britain and took place at the BBC Television Theatre, London on 25th May 1959.  They were broadcast on BBC Television on the same day and Eric Robinson conducted the Concert Orchestra, led by David McCallum.

The Best Selling and Most Performed Song of the Year

Trudie – WINNER
Written by Joe Henderson
Published by Henderson Music

You Need Hands
Written by Max Bygraves
Published by Lakeview Music

Most Outstanding Song of the Year, Musically and Lyrically

There Goes My Lover
Written by Leonard Taylor and Harold Shaper
Published by David Toff

The Wind Cannot Read – WINNER
Written by Peter Hart
Published by Berry Music

The Year’s Outstanding Novelty Song

I’m So Ashamed – WINNER
Written by Ken Hare
Published by Sydney Bron

The Army Game
Written by Pat Napper and Sid Colin
Published by Phoenix Music

The Year’s Outstanding Composition in Jazz or Beat Idiom

Rock Bottom
Written by Tommy Watt and Jock Bain
Published by B.F. Wood

The Colonel’s Tune – WINNER
Written by Johnny Dankworth
Published by B. F. Wood

The Year’s Outstanding Light Orchestral Composition

Lingering Lovers – WINNER
Written by Ron Goodwin
Published by Sydney Bron

Melody From The Sea
Written by Donald Phillips
Published by Lawrence Wright

The Year’s Outstanding Contribution to the Score of a Stage Play, Film, TV Programme or Radio Production

Written by Philip Green
Published by Filmusic

Theme Music for ‘Inn of the Sixth Happiness’ – WINNER
Written by Malcolm Arnold
Published by B. Feldman

Outstanding Services to British Popular Music

Billy Cotton

<< Back to 1956 – 1959

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!